Weekend Long Player: “Boing!” by Airhead

I’d say there’s a fair amount of love for early 90s indiepopsters Airhead in the blogosphere, but I never see anyone post their album, so here it is.

Airhead consisted of Michael Wallis (songwriting, vocals, guitar), Steven Marshall (keyboards), Ben Kesteven (bass) and Sam Kesteven (drums). They launched onto the scene with a couple of baggy-influenced singles, “Congratulations” and “Scrap Happy” under the name Jefferson Airhead, but had to shorten the moniker after it prompted a stiffly worded letter from Jefferson Airplane‘s legal bods, complaining that the group were mocking their trademark (which in all fairness, they clearly were).

The album includes both those singles plus additional 45s “Funny How”, “Counting Sheep” and “Right Now”. This is actually the second issue of the album, which adds an extra song, “Easy”, and a second version of “Funny How”. In retrospect I’d say it hasn’t stood up that well, but it’s a nice time capsule from before this kind of indiepop came to feel a bit generic.

Link: Airhead – Boing! (password: salad)

  1. Scrap Happy
  2. I Might Fall
  3. Right Now
  4. Funny How (single version)
  5. Easy
  6. Counting Sheep
  7. I Don’t Mind
  8. Congratulations
  9. Wish You Were Here
  10. Isn’t It Rich
  11. Everybody Needs
  12. Funny How (original version)

One response

  1. For some while, Funny How was my theme song…
    Loved this record when it came out, but it hasn’t aged terribly well.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: