Don spirit specs now!

cookieHere’s a band I bought a few singles by, about twenty years ago, and paid no further attention to. But reading up on them today, I think I should probably investigate further. I just remember David Devant and his Spirit Wife as also-ran Camden scenesters but they had a theatricality and a retro-modernity like World of Twist taken to the next level. I shall explore…

Meanwhile, here’s their debut single from 1996.  Third track “Trouble” is a setting of the poem “The Trouble With Geraniums” by Mervyn Peake. I’ve split off the hidden track, which originally appeared after six minutes of silence following “Trouble”.

David Devant and his Spirit Wife – Cookie (1996 CD single)
Link: David Devant and his Spirit Wife – Cookie
Link: David Devant and his Spirit Wife – One Hand
Link: David Devant and his Spirit Wife – Trouble
Link: David Devant and his Spirit Wife – [unlisted hidden track]

One response

  1. Not heard this one before, but you’ve inspired me to revisit their “Work, Lovelife, Miscellaneous” album this morning, something I’ve not done for a while, and I now have a big grin on my face. Bar “Ginger”, I’d forgotten how much fun this lot were.

Leave a Reply

